2018 Primary Election Results

Here are you Primary Election results in key races and issues:

Locally, the two candidates for Adair County Presiding Commisioner who will face each other in the November General Election will be Republican Mark Shahan and Democrat Rick Steele. The winner will take the seat previously held by Stanley Pickens, who is not seeking re-election.

In the Republican Primary for the 18th district Missouri State Senate, Cindy O’Laughlin won. She defeated three current members of the Missouri House of Representatives Craig Redmon, Lindell Shumake and Nate Walker. In a press release last night, O’Laughlin commended the lawmakers for their years of service to the state. She addd that she looks forward to general election campaign focused on the issues facing northeast Missouri. O’Laughlin will go up against Democrat Crystal Stephens in the November General Election.

Last Night, State Representative Nate Walker congratulated Cindy O’Laughlin on winning the Republican Primary for the 18th Dstrict State Senate. He said “May God richly bless you and ive you the gift of discerment.”

The candidates who will run for Walker’s Missouri House 3rd District seat in November are: Republican Danny Busic and Democrate Joni Perry.

Republican Saundra McDowell will face Democrat Nicole Galloway for State Auditor in November.

Proposition 1 was struck down by voters yesterday in both Shelby and Macon Counties. Shelby Co. residents voted 81% ‘No’ and residents in Macon Co. voted 65% ‘No’. The results mean the town of Clarence will not be redistricted into the Macon School District. Proposition 1 had to pass in both school districts for the redistricting to occur. Voters in Shelby, County had previously approved a tax increase that would close the elementary schools in Clarence and Shelbina, in order to build one new school. Those plans will likely continue now.

A key Senate showdown is set in Missouri. Democratic Sen. Claire McCaskill and Republican Attorney General Josh Hawley won their respective primaries Tuesday.

Missouri voters have rejected a right-to-work law banning mandatory union fees in workplace contracts.