State Legislative Race Winners

Three Republicans will represent Northeast Missouri in the state legislature. Election results show that Cindy O’Laughlin of Shelbina defeated challenger Crystal Stephens for the 18th State Senate District seat with 70.3 percent of the vote in 14 Northeast Missouri counties. Louis Riggs of Hannibal won the seat for the 5th House District and Greg Sharpe of Ewing ran unapposed for the 4th House District. All three newcomers will take over seats vacated by incumbents who were ineligible to seek re-election due to term limits. O’Laughlin will assume the seat being vacated by State Sen. Brian Munzlinger, and will become the first woman in history to hold that position. Riggs will take over the seat held currently by State Rep. Lindell Shumake, while Sharpe will take over the seat held by State Rep. Craig Redmon.

In another state leglislative race, Republican Danny Busick won his first term as 3rd district State Representative, defeating Democrat Joni Perry.