Governor Awards Public Safety Medals to Former Truman Students

Governor Mike Parson awarded Missouri Public Safety Medals to a total of 18 first responders and 6 civilians for heroic and live-saving actions in 2018. Three of the six civilians were former Truman State University students.

Tyler Preston, Gabriel Gowen, and Jordan Lambay, who were nominated by Kirksville Police Department. On the night of June 29, 2018, Kirksville Police officers were dispatched to a domestic assault involving an axe.
When officers arrived, they found Lambay holding down the assailant. Gowen and Preston had also helped end the attack and get the victim medical attention. Kirksville Police believe had Preston, Gowen, and Lambay not responded, the attack would have continued and the victim would have died from her injuries.
Governor Parson said the private citizens that were honored during yesterday’s award ceremony, performed extraordinarily courageous acts. Photos from the ceremony can be seen online at