Nixon Gets Fed Declaration

Missouri Governor Jay Nixon asked for it and President Obama granted it. Its a disaster declaration for areas across Missouri that were hit by flooding, severe storms and excessive rain in June and July. By getting the declaration, the affect counties and local governments can go for federal money for disaster relief. The federal government will reimburse local governments for 75 percent of whey spent on emergency response and other activities associated with the weather, starting on June 12.

The affected counties are on our website at

Counties for which agricultural assistance has been requested are: Adair, Andrew, Audrain, Benton, Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Cooper , Crawford, Daviess, DeKalb, Dunklin, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Mississippi, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Pemiscot, Perry, Pettis, Pike, Platte, Putnam, Ralls, Ray, St. Charles, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan, Vernon, Warren and Worth.