Missouri’s request for Major Disaster Declaration Approved

President Trump has approved Missouri’s request for a major disaster declaration to assist residents and businesses in 20 counties in the state affected by flooding, tornadoes, and severe storms that began in late April and continue to impact the state.

The President’s declaration makes the federal Individual Assistance program available to eligible residents in those counties, which includes Chariton County in Northeast Missouri. Residents in those counties can now register for Federal Emergency Management Agency assistance with temporary housing, housing repairs, and the replacement of household items.

The state’s June 24 request for a federal disaster declaration stated that Preliminary Damage Assessments examined 1,650 primary homes, of which 953 had been destroyed or sustained major damage. The assessments also showed that 125 of 251 businesses that were examined had been destroyed or sustained major damage.

Those eligible can register for disaster assistance by going to www.DisasterAssistance.gov or calling FEMA’s toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).