Municipal Election Results Kirksville and Adair County

Here are results of the Municipal Election for Kirksville and Adair County.

For Kirksville City Council, there were four candidates vying for one open seat. John Gardner won the seat by recieving 56.05 percent of the vote. Kabir Bansal had 27.85 percent of votes. Dana McDowell 11.53 percent and Kevin Alm 4.34 percent.

There were 6 candidates running for two seats on the Kirksville R-III School Board. Angela Caraway won one of the seats with 26.43 percent of the vote and Nick Billington won the second seat with 22.29 percent.

Eight candidates ran for three seats to serve on the Adair County Health Department Board of Trustees. The top three vote getters were: Dr. Brenda Higgins with 19.88 percent, Curt Platz with 15.73, and Robin Jones Darr with 14.80 percent.

The majority of Adair County voters were in favor of a quarter-cent sales tax proposal to fund repairs of the courthouse, with 55.77 percent voting yes.

For Brashear Mayor, Rob Mayfield was the winner over Joanne Kincaid. Mayfield won 55.26 percent of the vote.

The two At-Large seats for the City of Greentop went to Doug Lindquist and Justin Ray.

The two At-Large seats for the City of Novinger went to Janice Pearce and Matthew Davis.

There’s a tie in the race for a school board seat for the R-1 Novinger School District. Justin Klingsmith won the first seat with 26.93 percent. There’s a tie for the second seat with both Sharon Barnes and Robin Carter each receiving 21.04 percent.

According to the Adair County Clerk’s Office, 2,915 of the county’s 14,555 registered voters cast a ballot – that’s a 20.03 percent voter turnout.