FEMA Approves Governor’s Disaster Declaration Request

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved Missouri’s request for a major disaster declaration. A total of 21 counties will receive federal assistance in response to severe storms and flooding beginning in late June and continuing through July 1. The Governor’s August 13 request included $10 million in qualifying disaster-related expenses that had already been identified. FEMA’s approval means local governments and eligible nonprofits in the 21 counties – including Chariton County in Northeast Missouri – will receive reimbursements for emergency response costs and repairs to roads, bridges, and other public infrastructure.